Камилла Лэкберг
The Girl in the Woods

The Girl in the Woods
Camilla Lackberg

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg’s new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrik Hedström and Erica Falck – irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.A missing childWhen a four-year-old girl disappears in the woods outside Fjällbacka, people are horror-struck. Thirty years ago, a child went missing from the same spot, and was later discovered, murdered.A murderBack then, two teenage girls were found guilty of the killing. Could one of them be the culprit this time? Detective Patrik Hedström starts investigating, with his wife, bestselling crime writer Erica Falck, by his side.A community torn apartBut as Patrik and Erica dig deeper, it seems that everyone in the tight-knit community is hiding something. And soon, the residents must confront the fact that there could be a murderer in their midst…

Copyright (#u4e4d6917-bc87-5782-8ded-f88f05357b4f)

Published by HarperCollinsPublishers Ltd

1 London Bridge Street

London SE1 9GF

www.harpercollins.co.uk (http://www.harpercollins.co.uk)

First published in Great Britain by HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copyright © Camilla Lackberg 2017

Published by agreement with Nordin Agency, Sweden

Translation copyright © Tiina Nunnally 2017

Originally published in 2017 by Bokförlaget Forum, Sweden, as Häxan

Cover design by Micaela Alcaino © HarperCollinsPublishers Ltd 2018

Cover photographs © Kristina Dominianni/Arcangel Images (https://www.arcangel.com/C.aspx?VP3=CMS3&VF=Homepage) (girl), © Shutterstock.com (https://www.shutterstock.com/) (woods)

Camilla Lackberg asserts the moral right to be identified as the author of this work.

A catalogue copy of this book is available from the British Library.

This novel is entirely a work of fiction. The names, characters and incidents portrayed in it are the work of the author’s imagination. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, events or localities is entirely coincidental.

All rights reserved under International and Pan-American Copyright Conventions. By payment of the required fees, you have been granted the non-exclusive, non-transferable right to access and read the text of this e-book on screen. No part of this text may be reproduced, transmitted, down-loaded, decompiled, reverse engineered, or stored in or introduced into any information storage and retrieval system, in any form or by any means, whether electronic or mechanical, now known or hereinafter invented, without the express written permission of HarperCollins.

Source ISBN: 9780007518401

Ebook Edition © February 2018 ISBN: 9780007518395

Version: 2018-10-01

Dedication (#u4e4d6917-bc87-5782-8ded-f88f05357b4f)

For Polly

Contents

Cover (#u9efcc4a9-6088-57b0-b6a8-ac41c88111af)

Title Page (#u93b24218-9f8b-5d48-8d1d-dccdab62234a)

Copyright

Dedication

Chapter One

Chapter Two

The Stella Case

Chapter Three

Bohuslän 1671

Chapter Four

The Stella Case

Chapter Five

Bohuslän 1671

Chapter Six

The Stella Case

Chapter Seven

Bohuslän 1671

Chapter Eight

Bohuslän 1671

Chapter Nine

The Stella Case

Chapter Ten

Bohuslän 1671

Chapter Eleven

The Stella Case

Chapter Twelve