Камилла Лэкберг
The Drowning

The Drowning
Camilla Lackberg

Swedish crime sensation and No. 1 international bestseller, Camilla Lackberg’s new psychological thriller - for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo NesboChristian Thydell’s dream has come true: his debut novel, The Mermaid, is published to rave reviews. So why is he as distant and unhappy as ever?When crime writer Erica Falck discovers that Christian has been receiving anonymous threats, she investigates not just the messages but also the author’s mysterious past…Meanwhile, one of Christian’s closest friends is missing. Erica’s husband, Detective Patrik Hedström, has his worst suspicions confirmed as the mind-games aimed at Christian and those around him become a disturbing reality.But, with the victims themselves concealing evidence, the investigation is going nowhere. Is their silence driven by fear or guilt? And what is the secret they would rather die to protect than live to see revealed?

CAMILLA LACKBERG

The Drowning

Translated from the Swedish by Tiina Nunnally

Copyright

Published by HarperCollinsPublishers Ltd

1 London Bridge Street

London SE1 9GF

www.harpercollins.co.uk (http://www.harpercollins.co.uk)

Published by HarperCollinsPublishers 2012

Copyright © Camilla Lackberg 2008

Published by agreement with Nordin Agency, Sweden

Translation copyright © Tiina Nunnally 2011

First published in Swedish as Sjöjungfrun

Camilla Lackberg asserts the moral right to be identified as the author of this work

A catalogue record for this book is available from the British Library

FIRST EDITION

This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places, and incidents either are the products of the author’s imagination or are used fictitiously. Any resemblance to actual events, locales, organizations, or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental and beyond the intent of either the author or the publisher.

All rights reserved under International and Pan-American Copyright Conventions. By payment of the required fees, you have been granted the non-exclusive, non-transferable right to access and read the text of this ebook on-screen. No part of this text may be reproduced, transmitted, downloaded, decompiled, reverse engineered, or stored in or introduced into any information storage and retrieval system, in any form or by any means, whether electronic or mechanical, now known or hereinafter invented, without the express written permission of HarperCollins.

HarperCollinsPublishers has made every reasonable effort to ensure that any picture content and written content in this ebook has been included or removed in accordance with the contractual and technological constraints in operation at the time of publication

Source ISBN: 9780007419517

Ebook Edition © July 2012 ISBN: 9780007419524

Version: 2018-08-13

To Martin

Table of Contents

Title Page (#u049e4024-c712-517a-9777-845a6d1a843d)

Dedication (#ufb189c9b-de3a-5810-87d3-cf588be61bea)

Chapter 1 (#u83f8772f-b79d-5c89-b057-ff2a8d6ff0ee)

Chapter 2 (#u4be80c0c-ffab-520a-9baf-4137eefb10e2)

Chapter 3 (#u32ec4f5f-e426-5600-bf71-0e7292b8856a)

Chapter 4 (#u5a1cfbe3-dfb7-5cee-bc85-5f6c6b937ee4)

Chapter 5 (#u03341266-babf-5472-9edb-576c2bc0d50f)

Chapter 6 (#u06c83428-5d88-544e-81c6-3d2e31a47418)

Chapter 7 (#u2b6d7401-4a20-545d-a7fe-3aeb65501133)

Chapter 8 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 9 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 10 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 11 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 12 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 13 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 14 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 15 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 16 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 17 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 18 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 19 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 20 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 21 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter 22 (#litres_trial_promo)