Камилла Лэкберг
Buried Angels

Buried Angels
Camilla Lackberg

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg’s new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck – irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.YOU CANNOT CHANGE THE PASTEaster 1974. A family vanishes from their home on an idyllic island off the Swedish coast. They have left everything behind – including their one-year-old daughter, Ebba.Now, years later, Ebba has returned to the island. She and her husband have suffered the loss of their only child and are looking to make a fresh start. But within days, their house is the target of an arson attack.YOU CANNOT ESCAPE THE FUTUREDetective Patrik Hedstrom takes on the investigation, aided by his wife, crime writer Erica Falck, who has always been fascinated by the mystery of Ebba’s abandonment and the family’s tragic history.When dried blood is found under the floorboards of the old house, it seems that the cold case involving the missing family is about to be brought back to life. And soon, Patrik and Erica are consumed by the hunt for a killer who will stop at nothing to keep the past buried…

CAMILLA LACKBERG

Buried Angels

Translated from the Swedish by Tiina Nunnally

Copyright (#ulink_e6898835-d909-5fc7-a889-16cb56481231)

HarperCollinsPublishers

1 London Bridge Street

London SE1 9GF

www.harpercollins.co.uk (http://www.harpercollins.co.uk)

Published by HarperCollinsPublishers 2014

Copyright © Camilla Lackberg 2011

Published by agreement with Nordin Agency, Sweden

Translation copyright © Tiina Nunnally 2014

Cover design layout © HarperCollinsPublishers 2014

Cover photographs © Tony Watson / Arcangel Images (forest); Johner Images / Getty Images (girl)

Camilla Lackberg asserts the moral right to be identified as the author of this work.

A catalogue record for this book is available from the British Library.

This novel is entirely a work of fiction. The names, characters and incidents portrayed in it are the work of the author’s imagination. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, events or localities is entirely coincidental.

All rights reserved under International and Pan-American Copyright Conventions. By payment of the required fees, you have been granted the non-exclusive, non-transferable right to access and read the text of this e-book on-screen. No part of this text may be reproduced, transmitted, down-loaded, decompiled, reverse engineered, or stored in or introduced into any information storage and retrieval system, in any form or by any means, whether electronic or mechanical, now known or hereinafter invented, without the express written permission of HarperCollins.

HarperCollinsPublishers has made every reasonable effort to ensure that any picture content and written content in this ebook has been included or removed in accordance with the contractual and technological constraints in operation at the time of publication.

Source ISBN: 9780007419593

Ebook Edition © DECEMBER 2014 ISBN: 9780007419609

Version 2018-09-24

‘If one man can display so much hatred, imagine how much love all of us together could show.’

Table of Contents

Cover (#u704d6962-f6a7-59fa-a693-148f4c2e8d92)

Title Page (#u39096896-b837-555d-8ef5-54647e51be60)

Copyright (#u85136942-dfc3-5e21-8957-c82cb737cfaf)

Epigraph (#u3f5b4fdc-bbb2-5541-a58e-31a04e58c81f)

Chapter One (#u3dea2538-fcdf-5ccb-b362-7a703b7da0ae)

Fjällbacka 1908 (#u359aec52-b32f-5511-b54f-8c8fb6e8ed15)

Chapter Two (#u2593f87c-2948-5819-ac2d-49bd7a460528)

Fjällbacka 1912 (#u910c002e-9521-592e-8e04-b1ad696c5809)

Chapter Three (#ua820a554-60f1-50d2-884d-9f1302f7379a)

Fjällbacka 1915 (#u3de744cb-ec6c-5e9e-a5b0-3f7ac54767cc)

Chapter Four (#u08670ddd-b8ed-505f-b1fa-fc47a4aa11b9)

Fjällbacka 1919 (#u5d707ca4-9335-54bc-9d4a-ba8947580fd4)

Chapter Five (#ud69e3558-b882-58ef-b78c-fe012327fbae)

Fjällbacka 1919 (#u64678309-8ca0-50d4-9550-cae402c717b2)

Chapter Six (#ub9930941-245f-5fa5-8f54-330b2371a5f7)

Fjällbacka 1919 (#u0fd79e0b-310c-5309-80aa-da17445f17e4)

Chapter Seven (#uf413fa19-d1a9-59cf-be75-5dcfd8c42739)

Fjällbacka 1919 (#u9f570d38-ae57-56b1-8e06-e82d6a5cf6fb)

Chapter Eight (#litres_trial_promo)

Fjällbacka 1920 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter Nine (#litres_trial_promo)

Fjällbacka 1925 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter Ten (#litres_trial_promo)

Stockholm 1925 (#litres_trial_promo)