Робин Хобб
Renegade’s Magic

Renegade’s Magic
Robin Hobb

‘Fantasy as it ought to be written’ George R.R. MartinThe people of Getty's town remember the death of their cemetery soldier vividly. They remember believing him guilty of unspeakable crimes, condemning him, and then watching as other men of his unit beat him until he no longer drew breath.But Nevare Burvelle didn't die that day, though everyone believes they saw it happen. He was cornered by a power far more intractable than any angry mob.When he was a boy, the magic of the Specks – the dapple-skinned tribes of the frontier forests – claimed Nevare as a saviour; severing his soul in two, naming his stolen half Soldier's Boy and shaping him into a weapon to halt the Gernian expansion into their lands and save their beloved ancestor trees.Until now Nevare has defied the magic, unable to accept his traitorous fate. But the magic has won: it has extinguished his once golden future, devastated his family and has now turned his own people against him. Faced with endangering the only loved-ones he has left, Nevare has no choice but to surrender to its will and enter the forest.But surrendering to his Speck destiny is only the beginning of his trials. Before he submits completely, Nevare makes one desperate last attempt to deter the Gernians from the Barrier Mountains without causing them harm. But the magic accepts no compromise. Exhausted, Nevare can no longer suppress his traitorous Speck self, Soldiers Boy. Losing control, he becomes a prisoner in his own body; able only to watch helplessly as his other half takesSoldier's Boy is determined to stop the Gernian expansion at all cost, and unlike Nevare, he has no love, nor sympathy for his spirit-twin's world.

Renegade’s Magic

Book Three of the Soldier Son Trilogy

Robin Hobb

Copyright (#ulink_d3b91ebe-a37d-548e-80b7-cc4a9d973df5)

This novel is entirely a work of fiction. The names, characters and incidents portrayed in it are the work of the author’s imagination. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, events or localities is entirely coincidental.

HarperVoyager An imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers Ltd. 1 London Bridge Street London SE1 9GF

www.harpercollins.co.uk (http://www.harpercollins.co.uk/)

Published by HarperVoyager 2007

Copyright © Robin Hobb 2007

Cover illustration © Jackie Morris

Map by Andrew Ashton

Robin Hobb asserts the moral right to be identified as the author of this work

A catalogue record for this book is available from the British Library

All rights reserved under International and Pan-American Copyright Conventions. By payment of the required fees, you have been granted the nonexclusive, nontransferable right to access and read the text of this ebook on-screen. No part of this text may be reproduced, transmitted, downloaded, decompiled, reverse engineered, or stored in or introduced into any information storage and retrieval system, in any form or by any means, whether electronic or mechanical, now known or hereinafter invented, without the express written permission of HarperCollins ebooks

HarperCollinsPublishers has made every reasonable effort to ensure that any picture content and written content in this ebook has been included or removed in accordance with the contractual and technological constraints in operation at the time of publication

Source ISBN: 9780007196203

Ebook Edition © SEPTEMBER 2008 ISBN: 9780007283446

Version: 2017-06-30


Cover (#ue22bf02e-1286-5362-8365-b46235b949e8)

Title Page (#ua4549a1c-1842-5049-b9de-4e0debca5121)

Copyright (#uef061e7f-b868-5321-9340-ddab41ba0bc4)

Map (#u70f41d4b-e2f6-5392-abc5-c4e0a31c6ae9)

One: Soldier’s End

Two: Flight

Three: Lisana

Four: Mage Work

Five: The Other Side

Six: Confrontations

Seven: Epiny’s Ultimatum

Eight: Quick-walk

Nine: Journey in Darkness

Ten: Dream-walker

Eleven: The Wintering Place

Twelve: Trade Goods

Thirteen: Hoarding

Fourteen: The Trading Place

Fifteen: The Invitation

Sixteen: Kinrove

Seventeen: Treachery

Eighteen: Boxed

Nineteen: The Summoning

Twenty: The Warning

Twenty-One: Massacre

Twenty-Two: Retreat

Twenty-Three: Tidings

Twenty-Four: Resolutions

Twenty-Five: Decisions