Камилла Лэкберг
The Ice Child

The Ice Child
Camilla Lackberg

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg’s new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck – irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.SEE NO EVILIt’s January in the peaceful seaside resort of Fjällbacka. A semi-naked girl wanders through the woods in freezing cold weather. When she finally reaches the road, a car comes out of nowhere. It doesn’t manage to stop.HEAR NO EVILThe victim, a girl who went missing four months ago, has been subjected to unimaginably brutal treatment – and Detective Patrik Hedström suspects this is just the start.SPEAK NO EVILThe police soon discover that three other girls are missing from nearby towns, but there are no fresh leads. And when Patrik’s wife stumbles across a link to an old murder case, the detective is forced to see his investigation in a whole new light.

CAMILLA LACKBERG

The Ice Child

Translated from the Swedish by Tiina Nunnally

Copyright (#ua9747657-8f0b-53cc-a0d5-b26c438c3d67)

This is entirely a work of fiction. Any references to real people, living or dead, real events, businesses, organizations and localities are intended only to give the fiction a sense of reality and authenticity. All names, characters and incidents are either the product of the author’s imagination or are used fictitiously, and their resemblance, if any, to real-life counterparts is entirely coincidental.

HarperCollinsPublishers

1 London Bridge Street

London SE1 9GF

www.harpercollins.co.uk (http://www.harpercollins.co.uk)

Published by HarperCollinsPublishers 2016

Copyright © Camilla Lackberg 2014

Published by agreement with Nordin Agency, Sweden

Translation copyright © Tiina Nunnally 2016

Originally published in 2014 by

Bokförlaget Forum, Sweden, as Lejontämjaren

Camilla Lackberg asserts the moral right to be identified as the author of this work

Cover layout design © HarperCollinsPublishers 2016

Cover photographs © Richard Boll/Getty Images (girl); Paul Bucknall/Arcangel Images (trees); Shutterstock.com (http://www.Shutterstock.com) (path)

A catalogue record for this book is available from the British Library

All rights reserved under International and Pan-American Copyright Conventions. By payment of the required fees, you have been granted the non-exclusive, non-transferable right to access and read the text of this e-book on-screen. No part of this text may be reproduced, transmitted, down-loaded, decompiled, reverse engineered, or stored in or introduced into any information storage and retrieval system, in any form or by any means, whether electronic or mechanical, now known or hereinafter invented, without the express written permission of HarperCollins e-books

Ebook Edition © MARCH 2016 ISBN: 9780007518357

Source ISBN: 9780007518333

Version: 2017-05-09

Dedication (#ua9747657-8f0b-53cc-a0d5-b26c438c3d67)

For Simon

Table of Contents

Cover (#uad97c8cf-8b84-5732-ae5e-48577811da8b)

Title Page (#u14367f6c-7d6d-5ae2-a9fb-71d096e4f35e)

Copyright (#u8462d644-d4e4-51fb-8ef7-6bc5efd26d59)

Dedication (#uf3c43648-dbf5-5388-91b1-04969216f7f0)

Chapter One (#u18d092b7-4283-5b1c-83b3-d1619720092b)

Fjällbacka 1964 (#u8bb5d512-064a-57f1-be16-2a1579728408)

Chapter Two (#u984bb125-8dad-539d-a0ba-42b1b1d41108)

Fjällbacka 1967 (#ua1962454-7aae-51c0-a709-c694bbd1b6a8)

Chapter Three (#u7a70ef52-cf4e-5131-95e8-fc74ef9891cd)

Uddevalla 1967 (#u514eb7b9-2195-5186-958a-97cbc2842ebd)

Chapter Four (#u5938359c-b7ee-52c6-a9c1-d0b262f5cf0d)

Uddevalla 1968 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter Five (#litres_trial_promo)

Uddevalla 1971 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter Six (#litres_trial_promo)

Uddevalla 1972 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter Seven (#litres_trial_promo)

Uddevalla 1973 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter Eight (#litres_trial_promo)

Uddevalla 1973 (#litres_trial_promo)

Chapter Nine (#litres_trial_promo)

Uddevalla 1974 (#litres_trial_promo)